Main content

Image Map

North’s fresh faces

Paul Riordan  February 16, 2017 11:56 AM

Nick Larkey has been named in the North Melbourne squad to take on Sydney.

Nick Larkey has been named in the North Melbourne squad to take on Sydney.

North Melbourne fans will get their first chance to see a host of new Roos in the club’s opening JLT Community Series match on Sunday.

The club has named six new recruits in the 29-man squad to take on Sydney while a further seven players, yet to make their AFL debuts, will also get the chance to push for selection in North’s Round 1 side.

New players Marley Williams, Nathan Hrovat, Declan Watson, Nick Larkey, Cameron Zurhaar and Matthew Taylor have been named for their first competitive appearance in the royal blue and white.

Those yet to pull on the jumper in the home and away season in recent years include Ben McKay, Sam Durdin, Ed Vickers-Willis, Braydon Preuss, Will Fordham, Mitch Hibberd and Declan Mountford.

There is still plenty of experience in the Roos’ side, with Jack Ziebell, Shaun Higgins, Andrew Swallow, Lindsay Thomas, Jarrad Waite and Sam Gibson named.

The club will trim the list to 26 on the day of the match.

North Melbourne Squad – JLT Community Series Match 1

2. Marley Williams
4. Shaun Higgins
6. Lachlan Hansen
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Nathan Hrovat
9. Andrew Swallow
10. Ben Cunnington
11. Luke McDonald
12. Lindsay Thomas
13. Ryan Clarke
14. Trent Dumont
18. Shaun Atley
23. Ben McKay
24. Sam Durdin
28. Kayne Turner
30. Jarrad Waite
31. Braydon Preuss
32. Mason Wood
33. Ed Vickers-Willis
34. Jamie Macmillan
35. Declan Watson
37. Will Fordham
39. Mitch Hibberd
40. Nick Larkey
41. Corey Wagner
42. Declan Mountford
43. Sam Gibson
44. Cameron Zurhaar
46. Matthew Taylor