Saturday afternoon shapes as an opportunity for North Melbourne to leap a couple of spots on the VFLW ladder, set to play Port Melbourne at ETU Stadium.

The Borough sit one spot ahead of the Kangaroos with an uncannily similar percentage. Over the first eight rounds, they've scored four fewer points but conceded an extra 13.

North will go into the game in form, having beaten fifth-placed Darebin by 25 points in Northcote last Saturday.

The Falcons led for most of the game, but a goal to Emily Paterno late in the third term gave the Roos a lead they wouldn't relinquish.

Steph Binder's side will regain AFLW-listed players in Amy Smith and Alice O'Loughlin, though Ella Maurer (health and safety protocols) and Britt Gibson (unavailable) will miss.

Unfortunately, Georgia Nicholas (health and safety protocols) will also make way, after she played a critical role in securing the points last Saturday with a late goal.

Smith, the Kangaroos' first father-daughter selection, can help to stretch the ground with her running capacity, while O'Loughlin can create opportunities for teammates up forward.

Lexi Hamilton will help the Kangaroos control the air, having collected five marks against the Falcons, while Tess Craven can help the team control the game from the centre.

>> Full VFLW fixture and results

In addition to the AFLW-listed players, the team will feature two players from the Tasmania Devils' NAB League side.

From Bridport on Tasmania's north-eastern coast, Devils captain Jemma Blair will line up with the back six, and offers composure with the ball and leadership without it.

Candice Belbin, from Ulverstone on the state's northern coast, is a half-back flanker with a strong appetite for the contest, having averaged 7.8 tackles for the Devils in 2022.

Blair and Belbin are just two of a number of Tasmania players set to rotate through the Roos' team over the rest of the season.

In other selection news, Laura Wright has been named following a best-on-ground performance for Keilor on Good Friday, while defender Jess Jones will return from injury.

>> The game will be streamed live on and the AFL Live Official App

Saturday, April 23

Port Melbourne v North Melbourne at ETU Stadium, 12.05pm AEST

B: 17. J.Jones, 18. A.Melnikas
HB: 1. M.Eastman, 10. C.Fitzgerald, 3. H.Ibrahim
C: 2. J.Mourney, 12. R.Hicks, 34. A.Smith
HF: 15. S.Skinner, 6. A.O'Loughlin, 26. T.Craven
F: 19. L.Wright, 21. E.Paterno
Foll: 34. A.Hamilton, 7. B.Slaney, 23. A.Scott

I/C: 22. E.McGrath, 24. E.Macdonald, 33. T.Bradley, 37. J.Blair, 38. C.Belbin
Emerg: 4. A.Rhodes, 25. L.Loughnane, 29. T.Moss


Become a 2022 Kangaroos member today and join us in the action!