Main content

AFLX: New format, new faces

North Melbourne fans will get the chance to see four new faces in action on Friday night, as part of the inaugural AFLX tournament.

Among those to be named in a 15-man squad are the Roos’ first draft selection Luke Davies-Uniacke, rookie Gordon Narrier, former Hawk Billy Hartung and midfielder Paul Ahern, who missed the entire 2017 season due to a knee injury.

Shaun Higgins and Jamie Macmillan will lead an exciting mix of youth and experience into clashes against Carlton and Melbourne, with the likes of Jarrad Waite (231 games) and Ben Cunnington (165 games) joined by young guns Jy Simpkin (13 games) and Braydon Preuss (8 games).

Preuss was one of the standouts in the Roos’ trial games, with his long kicking sure to make him a dangerous presence for North, while Majak Daw will get a solid test in a new defensive role.

AFLX squad

1. Majak Daw
4. Shaun Higgins ©
9. Luke Davies-Uniacke
10. Ben Cunnington
11. Luke McDonald
12. Jy Simpkin
15. Paul Ahern
18. Shaun Atley
24. Sam Durdin
30. Jarrad Waite
31. Braydon Preuss
34. Jamie Macmillan ©
39. Billy Hartung
41. Gordon Narrier
44. Cameron Zurhaar