Main content

AFLW: North's VFLW tie

Kaitlyn Ashmore.

Several of the club's star AFLW signings are enjoying the perfect preparation for their first season in the royal blue and white, representing the Melbourne University Women's Football Club during its VFLW campaign. 

North's long-standing relationship with MUWFC helped secure several of the players making up an impressive inaugural list. 

The 'MUGARS'' VFLW squad consists of nine Roos' stars including MUWFC captain Ash Riddell, Emma Kearney, Jamie Stanton, Jasmine Grierson, Danielle Hardiman, Kaitlyn Ashmore, Kate Gillespie-Jones, Sophie Abbatangelo and Tasmanian-born Emma Humphries.

The development of players and staff in preparation for the North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos' first season has been a focus.

Coached by North AFLW coach Scott Gowans, 19 players have debuted for MUWFC this year, with a total of 44 players pulling on the guernsey across the opening nine games, the equal-most of any team in the competition.

Tasmanian Nicole Bresnehan recently flew across the Bass Strait to take the opportunity to play as the team’s 23rd player, through a partnership designed to provide opportunities to future stars and grow the Tasmanaian talent pool.

Don’t miss MUWFC take on Hawthorn this Saturday, 2.30pm at Melbourne Uni Main Oval.