The North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos will continue to be a force in the AFLW competition, having retained 24 of their 30 players from its 2020 AFLW List.

Leading the way is vice-captain and best-and-fairest winner, Jas Garner, who also claimed the 2020 AFLW Players’ Most Valuable Player and AFLW Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award.

The dual All-Australian is joined by inaugural best-and-fairest winner, Jenna Bruton, Tahlia Randall, 2019 All-Australian Emma King, and Jasmine Grierson, who have all signed contract extensions.

All-Australian and emerging superstar, Ash Riddell, Ellie Gavalas, Kaitlyn Ashmore, Sophie Abbatangelo, Vivien Saad, Mia King and Sarah Wright have re-committed on two year deals.

All are set to remain at Arden St until at least the end of 2022.

Meanwhile, Aileen Gilroy, Daria Bannister, Bethany Lynch, Tahni Nestor, Daisy Bateman and Elisha King signed one-year deals, keeping them in the royal blue and white until at least the end of 2021.

“To retain this group of 24 players, and add another in Grace Campbell, is a testament to the direction we’re going in as a club, and one we know our players are really excited about,” North AFLW list and football performance manager, Rhys Harwood said.

“We have a lot of faith in what we’re building and its evident in the amount of players that have committed their futures to the club.

“We’ve seen the team develop some great synergy over the past couple of seasons and we want to continue to build on that as we push for success.

“We’re really confident on how our list is taking shape and were looking forward to finalising our squad for 2021 at the upcoming National Draft.”

Emma Kearney, Jess Duffin, Danielle Hardiman, Kate Gillespie-Jones, Britt Gibson, and Nicole Bresnehan remain contracted for next season.

02:46 Mins
Published on

AFLW re-signing announcements (August 17, 2020)

Our AFLW team has some awesome news for you.

Published on