Ruby Tripodi finished in the top 10 in Tuesday's time trial

Young midfielder Taylah Gatt has taken out the club's 1.5km time trial as the North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos kicked off their AFLW pre-season on Tuesday.


Pace was among Gatt's assets as she announced herself as one of the league's most exciting young players in 2023.

She played every match as the Roos reached their first AFLW Grand Final, posting career-high numbers for disposals and tackles as she added a defensive edge to her game.

Taylah Gatt (second from right) took out Tuesday's time trial. Picture: NMFC Media

The 19-year-old won the time trial at Arden St Oval ahead of forward Alice O'Loughlin.

O'Loughlin was among the club's most improved players last season, earning a spot in the 22Under22 team, selected by the AFL Players' Association.

Veterans Ash Riddell and Nicole Bresnehan finished in a dead heat for third.


Midfielder Jenna Bruton was one of several Kangaroos who sat out the time trial as she recovers from a ruptured Achilles tendon, suffered in the opening quarter of December's Grand Final.

Defender Lulu Pullar also missed with a calf complaint, and tall Kim Rennie was absent due to illness.

New arrivals Ella Slocombe and Georgia Stubs were among those rested as their training loads are managed, together with Eliza Shannon, Lucy Burke and captain Emma Kearney, while Erika O'Shea, Vikki Wall and Blaithin Bogue are yet to rejoin the club from their spells at home in Ireland.

Time trial top 10

1. Taylah Gatt
2. Alice O'Loughlin
3. Ash Riddell
= Nicole Bresnehan
5. Mia King
6. Jasmine Garner
7. Tess Craven
8. Liz McGrath
= Ruby Tripodi
10. Niamh Martin


Bound with us and become a Roos member in 2024