Jy Simpkin has earned 10 AFL Coaches' Association Champion Player of the Year Award votes for his crucial efforts in North Melbourne's breakthrough win over West Coast in Perth.

The co-captain stood tall in a clutch moment for the Kangas in his first game back from a quad issue, booting a set-shot goal to wrench back the lead with two minutes left on the clock.

He finished with 28 disposals, two goals, seven inside 50s and seven tackles in his best performance of a heavily-interrupted campaign so far.


A season-best haul in front of goals for Nick Larkey saw him awarded with seven votes.

The key forward was dominant inside attacking 50 for the visiting Roos, ending the afternoon with five majors, six marks and 15 disposals.

Luke Davies-Uniacke and Harry Sheezel both picked up four votes apiece from North Melbourne senior coach Alastair Clarkson and West Coast senior coach Adam Simpson.

Davies-Uniacke (26 disposals, six score involvements) led a powerful midfield display, while Sheezel was at his creative best, accumulating four goal assists and one of his own from 30 touches.


West Coast v North Melbourne

10 Jy Simpkin (NMFC)
7 Nick Larkey (NMFC)
4 Luke Davies-Uniacke (NMFC)
4 Harry Sheezel (NMFC)
4 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
1 Jamie Cripps (WCE)

North Melbourne leaderboard

23 Luke Davies-Uniacke
11 Tristan Xerri 
10 Jy Simpkin
7 Nick Larkey
7 Harry Sheezel
5 Tom Powell
4 Aidan Corr
1 Charlie Comben


Be there in Round 14 as we mark 25 years since our iconic 1999 premiership!