North Melbourne has announced the six-man brigade forming its 2018 VFL Leadership Group.

Former Central Districts player Chris Jansen, the Canberra Demons’ Jordan Harper, North Ballarat’s Nick Rippon, Essendon’s Nash Holmes, ex-Brisbane Lion Michael Close and Rochester’s Steve Strobants will lead the side in its inaugural season.

“It was imperative that the selection of the Leadership group was going to benefit the club and team in our inaugural season,” VFL Coach David Loader told North Media.

The selection was based off on-field and off-field performance, presence at training, strength and influence of character, performance history and coachability.

“I believe that this group will uphold and enhance our standards on and off the field for North," Loader said.

“Each player was extremely keen to be involved, and bring uniquely different strengths to the playing group.”

The group, selected by coaching staff will work closely with the AFL team to ensure the values and standards of the club are imparted throughout.

Watch the video above to see the moment VFL Coach David Loader announced the 2018 VFL Leadership Group.

The news follows the announcement of North's 24-man VFL list on Monday.