West Coast's Darren Glass appeared to land in the back of Thomas as he lost his footing on a lead, however the contact was considered within the rules.
“My heart was in my mouth because I saw Thomas go to ground,” Gieschen said.
“I was really relieved when I saw a replay come up to show that probably Lindsay stumbled, went to ground himself, which caused Glass to go with him, but there’s no real infringement there.”
“You look at the score, you look at the time on the clock. I’m really relieved our umpire saw that clearly and processed it well.”
PRESS PLAY above to watch the incident | YouTube
Opinions on the call have been split among AFL fans, but there was no doubting North supporters’ thoughts - a poll on kangaroos.com.au revealed 81% believed it was a free kick.
Leave your comments below.
North Melbourne v Carlton
Friday July 13, 7.50pm
Etihad Stadium