Three outstanding year nine Tasmanian students, Tiffany Clark, Jack Wood, and Ashley McOrist-Mitchell, have been selected as this year’s Spirit Award finalists.

The award, a joint initiative of Spirit of Tasmania and the North Melbourne Football Club, is designed to reward and encourage students across the country to grow their leadership and compassion, and help inspire their communities.

In their applications, Clark and Wood highlighted the impact sport had on their lives.

“Sport helped me to meet new amazing people and be a part of a welcoming community,” Clark wrote.

And growing this ‘welcoming community’ is an area that Clark wants to focus on.

 “I  enjoy being a part of community fundraisers and volunteering my time to give back to my school and community and I encourage my peers to get involved and get out of their comfort zones too,” she said.

Wood, also noted how sport can help challenge people in unique ways.  

“I was always looking at others from the sidelines, wishing I was outgoing enough to join in,” wrote Clark.

“But football allowed me to come out of my shell, and has made me feel like I belong.

“I feel strong and I love this. If I won the Spirit Award I would donate the money to my high school to improve sporting equipment.”

McOrist–Mitchell’s focus was on lifting the student body’s voice.

“I love to encourage other class and school members to run for leadership roles,” she said.

“If there is no student voice how are the teachers and principle meant to know what our key issues are and what we would like.”

Spirit of Tasmania Acting CEO, John McGrath, excited about this year’s pool of talented students.

“This is the first year the Spirit Award has been open to schools around the state and we are so impressed with the quality of this year’s applicants,” McGrath said.

“These three finalists embody the values of the Spirit Award, and in particular their contributions to their local communities and their determination to achieve their  personal goals should be commended.”

“I congratulate all of the finalists for their efforts and wish them every success in the future.”  

This year’s award winner will be announced June 17.